Shape & Cut

Understanding Diamond Shapes

When discussing the “4 Cs”, the cut refers to the shape of the stone. There are several shapes in existence, the most popular of these is round. When hearing the word “brilliant” next to the description of the shape, it is referring to the facet pattern within the diamond. So, a round brilliant has the prescribed number of facets within the diamond to call it a “brilliant” cut. There is only one “brilliant” pattern, and this can be adapted depending on the cut of the diamond. So, a princess cut diamond – the square one – is known in the trade as a square modified brilliant; a pear cut as a pear modified brilliant, and so on. Try and stick to a brilliant cut where possible, avoiding older facet patterns such as the old mine cut and the rose cut. These styles of cutting diamonds do not maximise the sparkle and sparkle is exactly what you want when purchasing diamonds!

The main diamond shapes in existence these days are:

  • Round
  • Princess
  • Pear
  • Marquise
  • Heart
  • Radiant
  • Emerald
  • Asscher
  • Cushion
  • Oval

All but the emerald cut and Asscher cut are modified brilliants. The emerald cut and Asscher cut are known as “step cuts”, and draw the eye into the centre of the diamond. They do not offer sparkle in its traditional sense; more of a hall of mirrors effect. A step cut combined with high clarity equals an extremely alluring look, perfect for those wanting a departure from the usual.